Montgomery County Election Results 2012

Updates on the 2012 federal, state and county elections from Hatboro, Horsham, Upper Moreland and Lower Moreland will be posted here throughout the day. Connect with us on Twitter too at #PatchElections.

100 percent reported; results are unofficial until declared by the Montgomery Board of Elections.


 Race       Democratic Candidates Results Republican Candidates Results U.S. President Obama-Biden 230,493 Romney-Ryan 173,176 U.S. Senate Bob Casey 233,592 Tom Smith 163,502 PA Attorney General Kathleen Kane 229,530 David Freed 163,865 PA Auditor General Eugene DePasquale 207,421 John Maher 177,925 PA Treasurer Robert McCord 218,871 Diana Irey Vaughan 166,485 U.S. Congress,7th District George Badey 31,198 Patrick Meehan 40,683 U.S. Congress,8th District Kathy Boockvar 15,385 Mike Fitzpatrick 24,165 U.S. Congress,13th District Allyson Schwartz 113,869 Joseph Rooney 59,476 151st State Assembly Will Sylianteng 13,168 Todd Stephens 19,879 152nd State Assembly Ronald Adam Kolla 10,111 Thomas Murt 18,291

In 2004, with about 401,000 total votes, Sen. John Kerry beat incumbent George W. Bush by a margin of about 12 percent. Barack Obama, however, beat Sen. John McCain in the 2008 presidential balloting by a 20 percent margin with a total of nearly 428,000 votes cast.

Historically, Montgomery sways slightly to the democrats overall in presidential elections. Close up, however, the story has finer points.

In Horsham, for example, six precincts in 2008 voted for McCain and two were virtually tied, but about five of the precincts overwhelmingly chose Obama with margins as high as 25 percent. Every precinct in Hatboro, on the other hand, chose Obama by an average of 13 percent over McCain.

Likewise, in Upper Moreland, Obama took every precinct, some by nearly 30 points, except one – precinct 6-2 – which McCain got by 10 percent. The reverse was true in Lower Moreland where McCain handily carried every precinct except one. (See how your town voted in past elections with the attached PDFs.)

In state races, Patrick Meehan beat Democrat Bryan Lentz by about 3,000 votes for the 7th Congressional Seat in 2010. This time, Meehan beat challenger George Badey  For the 13th Congressional seat, Democrat Allyson Schwartz beat challenger Carson Dee Adcock by about 10,000 votes in 2010. This election, Schwartz beat Joseph Rooney by about 50,000 votes.

Related Content:

  • Hatboro Student Gets Early Taste of Voting
  • Election 2012 in Photos (Hatboro-Horsham)
  • Early Voting Turnout in Lower Moreland (Photos)
  • Election 2012: 151st District Race 
  • Election 2012: 152nd District; Thomas Murt vs. Ronald Kolla
  • Allyson Schwartz vs. Joe Rooney (PA 13th Congressional District)
  • Pat Meehan vs. George Badey (PA 7th Congressional District)


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »